Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Gmail: How to Reverse Embarrassing Emails?

How many times in the history of your business and personal communication you felt sorry for sending the email in a fracture of second after you hit the SEND button? In some cases, it is not critical, and you can send the follow-up email with correction or clarification. In other, it may become a life changer, if you included a wrong person in list of your addressees, or sent too fast, influenced by emotions. Now, you have a chance to reverse the message delivery as integrated Gmail option.

This Gmail feature Google has been testing for years. It allows to delay sending your email for a few seconds after you click Send, so you can take it back if you, for example, spell someone's name wrong.
After the feature spent six years in public beta, Google announced in a blog post this week that Undo Send is becoming an official setting.

When it launched in 2009, Undo Send would delay sending your emails for five seconds, but it now lets users choose if they want to hold their mail for 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.

While Undo Send feature is not available on mobile platforms yet, Google said it would roll out the feature to mobile sometimes in the future.

So how do you enable Gmail’s undo feature? Go to the little cog icon in the upper right-hand corner and select “Settings.” About a third of the way down the page, you will see the “Undo Send” section. You can choose between 5, 10, 20 and 30-second windows of sending delay. Make sure you hit “Save Changes” at the bottom and you are all set.


Sources and Additional Information:

No comments: